Review, Book Blog, Book Reviews

Stories to enthrall you with it’s unique forms and emotions – Island of the day before: Stories by Zuni Chopra

I began reading Zuni Chopra’s ‘The Island of the Day before: Stories’ with great interest as it had an otherworldly charm to it. I had a feeling that it won’t disappoint me, and it didn’t.

Opening line: Often, when the wind grows rough and angry on a untameable night, the pub at the end of our road is full up with song and feast and drunken hearts.

Page Counts: 224 pages

Publisher: Harper Collins

Publication Date: August 25th, 2018

The blurb on Amazon

With The Island of the Day Before, Zuni Chopra takes the readers on an extraordinary and consistently unpredictable voyage. Boldly experimental in terms of themes and forms, these whimsical tales – prose, poetry, flash fiction – of every day and the extraordinary, the fantastical and the mundane, will keep haunting you long after you have read them. This is a work of exceptional imagination from a young, prodigious talent – a rising star in the literary firmament

Review

Zuni Chopra, just a teenager has a way with words. Every story and every poem drips with palpable emotions of adulthood yet with the lightness of childhood. It has a beautiful collection of bewitching short stories and poems, which speaks of emotions that run rampant in human hearts. Love, Fear, pain, loneliness, death, and acceptance are the background music of the book. It reminded me of the magical world straight out of a fairytale, seeped in human emotions.

The book bends and crosses many genres. The stories take you to the imaginary world of one’s own mind blurring the reality. Each compilation is different from the other, surprising you with its vividness.

Zuni’s writing shines bright and surpasses herself in many stories

  • The Merchant and the Gnome
  • Okkie
  • The little Matchstick girl
  • The Dead Tree
  • La Ville D’Amour

She has a unique way of presenting her stories laden with beautiful metaphors.

“The body of the schoolmaster… neck ripped open like a bag of sweets, was lying beneath the debris… One fainted. One vomited deep vermillion into the pool of blood.”

The voyage into the book promises the readers, the world of the unknown places, you always imagined yet didn’t know it existed. ‘The Island of the Day Before: Stories’ has Neil Gaimanish feel to it. The instant connection you have from the word go is a very remarkable thing. That being said, the book is a must buy for the readers who love Poems, Short Stories and Fairy Tales, and a must for Neil Gaiman fans as they would devour the book in no time.

I give it 4.5/5

Zuni Chopra is a seventeen-year-old author who has published two poetry collections. Her first novel, The House That Spoke, released in January 2017. This is her fourth published work. She has contributed articles to Vogue India and Hindustan Times. Zuni has a passion for writing, especially fantasy and poetry, and her favorite authors include Neil Gaiman and Lewis Carroll. Her main source of encouragement and inspiration remains her six dogs.

 

Get your Copy

Amazon Flipkart

Find us here!

FACEBOOK | GOODREADS | PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | YOUTUBE 


Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. If you click through and purchase one of these products, I receive a small commission at no extra cost to you. I only recommend products I have used and love. If you enjoy Booxoul, using these affiliate links is one way to support our blog. 🙂

Rating
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Island of the day before: Stories by Zuni Chopra
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *